Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Looper, drums and bass synth  (Read 2759 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Hasie
Full Member
*

Thanked: 11
Offline Offline

Location: Pretoria
Posts: 400
Referrals: 0



View Profile
« on: November 18, 2016, 03:10:53 pm »

Is there any software out there that does the same thing as the Digitech Trio+?

Or a combination of software with which that can be easily achieved?

The Trio+ looks really nice for home jamming, but it is difficult for me to justify the price tag on it for a home jamming device.

I don't want to think about the drums by using sequencers and other drum pads. I know it will probably help me grow as musician, but when I want to play guitar, I want to plauy guitar, not fiddle with a drum machine and try and figure out a bass-line.

If there is an effects pedal with some preset drum rhythms and a looper which is quantized with the drums, that can also work. But then there is no bass-line.

EDIT:
Smartphone app suggestions are also welcome.
Logged

Love this music thing
Sponsored
peterleroux
Sr. Member
*

Thanked: 30
Offline Offline

Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 568
Referrals: 0



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2016, 03:55:39 pm »

Someone on the forum uses Band-in-a-box - I think that might do what you need it to?
Logged

Good dealings with matta, Keira witherkay, free2rhyme, Atilla Barath, Chocklit_Thunda
Stoffeltoo
Hero Member
*

Thanked: 34
Offline Offline

Location: Vanderbijlpark
Posts: 1,034
Referrals: 0


Always the player


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2016, 06:02:56 pm »

Yip, Band in a Box it is and I can honestly say that I am a chuffed user. Pick the style, bass, drums, chords even accompanying instruments of your choice to fill the mix.

A tad expensive with the Rondella Trumpella exchange rate but worth every cent and expandable with real tracks and extra styles.

Totally transposable and backing instrument selectable on the fly. BTW also apple and android apps available provided you own a legal software license.


 
Logged

My Gear:
Guitars
plenty

Amps
Some nice ones

Pedals
Those i can live with

Good dealings with Andrew Bryson, Iamweasel
Hasie
Full Member
*

Thanked: 11
Offline Offline

Location: Pretoria
Posts: 400
Referrals: 0



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2016, 06:30:05 pm »

Can I record my own X number of bars loop on it and make that loop with the other instruments quite easily?
I can't find decent demonstration vids on it.
Logged

Love this music thing
Stoffeltoo
Hero Member
*

Thanked: 34
Offline Offline

Location: Vanderbijlpark
Posts: 1,034
Referrals: 0


Always the player


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2016, 08:38:29 pm »

yep, repeats, back to coda, the worx
Logged

My Gear:
Guitars
plenty

Amps
Some nice ones

Pedals
Those i can live with

Good dealings with Andrew Bryson, Iamweasel
Paul E
Hero Member
*

Thanked: 31
Offline Offline

Location: Ballito, durban
Posts: 1,872
Referrals: 1



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2016, 11:09:52 am »

If you're on a mac, but Logic Pro X. You can download additional packs and it gives you a ton of bass lines in keys and tempos. It also has a smart drummer who you say play and it'll creative a groove for you very quickly and its SUPER easy to customize. It really is an epic practice and recording tool.
Logged
Hasie
Full Member
*

Thanked: 11
Offline Offline

Location: Pretoria
Posts: 400
Referrals: 0



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2016, 02:31:58 pm »

Thanks guys. Stoffeltoo, I'll see if I can download a trial and try it. Paul, it sound simple and easy. Unfortunately I do not have a Mac.
Logged

Love this music thing
Norman86
Hero Member
*

Thanked: 41
Offline Offline

Location: Kempton Park
Posts: 4,305
Referrals: 0


Zenith


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2016, 04:58:18 pm »

if you want hardware, I am still trying to sell my Zoom Rhythmtrak RT223. Does drums, and a bass line. you can program it, or use the internal loops. or just have drums, or just bass. It's not a pedal though, but you can use it via midi, and use some form of control switch with it. check it out, Let me know.
Logged

Zenith Custom S-Type - Cort M900 - PRS SE Soapbar

Ricochet | Harmonizer | OB.1 | ?uzz | Riverside | CryBaby Mini
Ventura Vibe | El Capistan | Flint | Trio+
Zoom A3 | Voicelive Play GTX | GA Custom | JDI-01 | Zuma
Quilter 101 Mini Amp | Eminence GB128 | Eminence TF-1250


CostaFonix: My Guitar Tech

www.fb.com/FADSKP
exsanguinator
Jr. Member
*

Thanked: 4
Offline Offline

Location: durban kzn
Posts: 198
Referrals: 0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2017, 06:33:30 pm »

I'd keep an eye on ebay,not many s/h Trio+ yet,but plenty Trio pedals.
Of you have relatives or friends o/s I'd look at the Gumtree sites there as well .
There's someone on Gumtree here looking for R4k+ for a Trio without the +...lol..what is he thinking?
Logged
nick_D01
Full Member
*

Thanked: 5
Offline Offline

Location: C.T
Posts: 410
Referrals: 0



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2017, 10:27:52 pm »

hey mr hasie, guys, there is also the line 6 JM4 pedal , which i would say is also definitely worth checking out.
its basically got the great 'backing band' features from the Spider Jam in a pedal design as well as the looping feature too




Logged

"I have the same mentality with guitar: you either strive for greatness or you go home, 'cause you gotta give all or nothing" - Zakk Wylde

Loadout:
Ibanez RG7620/7321 , Peavey Vypyr 30, Cort M600T, Yamaha Acoustics
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to: